the gummy bears sucked

poetry is my least favorite creative writing class at my university, but i always think they’re great when i write them. i love prose poetry.

i mean, maybe i could have fought harder, but i could have also taken a step back.

Maybe i didn’t move, but as i stood stationary while the world passed around me. while you left and not only left, you left me. standing here while the world passed slowly like the snail outside on the concrete step.

fighting harder pushes you away and not fighting at all shows that i don’t care, but i’m the one who cares the most. and you know that about me, but there’s a disconnect like when the phone charger is pulled out of the block and the lightning symbol disappears from your screen and the battery bar turns red again. but we aren’t a phone and its charger. we are people confused on what we are. you didn’t even say goodbye before you left.

Author: chancet1014

I'm a student. I'm a cashier. I'm a writer. I'm a rambler.

Leave a Reply

