domestic life

I like the way that you cover your face with your elbow when you laugh.

I also actually really like writing dream sequences where Ezra is happy with Owen.

Owen and I hugged again and we went our separate ways in the dead of night. He wished me a peaceful sleep and I did the same, and we closed our doors simultaneously with soft clicks of the door handles. I spun like a princess from the movies as I fell onto my bed and pulled the blankets around me. I yawned and waved my lights off as I buried my face into my pillow. I had another dream, but this time it was happy, just like while I was at home.

Sunlight came through the open window of my bedroom and brought me from a full rest to a stir. I rolled back and into an unexpected form.

“Good morning,” Owen said with a yawn. He wrapped his arm around me and pressed on my chest. I turned over in his hold and gazed upon his face, gently pulling the sleep from his eyes and off his head.

“Morning. How’d you sleep last night?”

“Ever since you’ve started putting me to sleep, it’s been better and better. Is there coffee downstairs?”

Before he could take another breath, I was gone from the bed and scooping coffee grounds into a filter. Owen descended the stairs quickly with a robe tied closed around himself. He started retrieving breakfast foods from the refrigerator and he prepped the utensils for the meal.

“You know, I could have waited on coffee, right?”

“And you realize that I could have made breakfast from the living room?”

Owen rolled his eyes and went back to work on the stove. We ate sitting on the counter with multiple cups of coffee between us and the morning news playing in the living room. Owen slid down from his seat by the sink but I held him back at the foot of the stairs, stuck in place.

“I can’t get ready for work if I’m stuck downstairs, Ezra,” Owen laughed.

“I mean, you don’t have to go. Stay with me today.”

“Ezra, we have spent so many days here, it is a mess. I’ve never thought that sex like this would be so enticing, but wow. But I also need to go to work today. I can’t just work from home every day. And neither can you.”

I rolled my eyes and my pajamas from the night before became one of my dress outfits for the office I edited for. I did the same for Owen as my hair grew out and I tied it into a bun. I did a twirl and pointed at my clothes.

“Better? Can I make an appearance at the office and then come back?”

Owen shook his head and pulled his keys from the wall hook and wished me a good day. He kissed me goodbye and removed his bag from the floor by the back door of the house. He waved from the other side of the door window. I waved my hands and the household chores began as I left with my own work over my shoulder and the lights flicked off as I closed the door behind me.

Author: chancet1014

I'm a student. I'm a cashier. I'm a writer. I'm a rambler.

Leave a Reply

