reconciled

So, I wrote a personal piece tonight, but I have also been working on this for a few days, but every time I went to type, I would always end up taking Buzzfeed quizzes. I’ve never reconciled anything, so that was also difficult? I end up basically running away from my problems until they start to kill me inside; ask Kyal and literally everyone else I know.

I packed my bag without touching a single thing. Mom and Dad watched the process from the doorway, hoping to learn what it was like to be me. I watched the amusement play across their faces as an invisible assembly line worked right in front in front of their eyes, my clothes floating from our laundry, folding, and sliding efficiently in my duffel bag. My bags zipped and faded into nothing, returning to my apartment. I said goodbye to my parents, gave them both a hug, and closed my bedroom door behind me. I vanished from the house and found myself on the doorstep on my apartment, reluctant to touch the door handle.

“Ezra! Where’ve you been?” Mason called out as he climbed the metal stairs up to their floor. He stopped at the top of the stairs and I thought back to my nightmare. He looked me up and down and said, “I like your hair. Extensions?”

“My hair grows fast. That’s not the point though. I went home. I just had some stuff to deal with.”

“Well, welcome home!”

I was nearly put off by his weird exuberance, but I followed him into the apartment and the two of us went separate ways, gently tiptoeing through the hallway and past Owen’s door, closing my own behind me. My skin felt hot with anxiety and I hadn’t even seen him! But I had to do something even if I felt like I may die while doing it. I mean, we both had to deal with hard aspects of this relationship and I didn’t know what could happen; it wasn’t like I had uncovered any sort of future sight.

I waited. Mason and Gavin were asleep in the respective bedrooms, but so was Owen. I didn’t know what he would say to every time I had just shown up in his room. But this time, I didn’t just pop into his room like the last one; this time, I traced the outline of his door handle and waited for it to click. Instead of Owen being asleep, he sat at his desk with his back to the door, but he jumped when the door had closed.

“I really wish you’d actually start knocking. Last time this happened, I thought I was gonna die, or at least be hurt in some way.”

“I’m sorry. There was a better way to do that. But I just wanted to see you and see if you were okay.”

Owen turned his chair and pushed himself to his feet, only to sink into his bed. “Ezra, you know I’m crazy about you. I was just—I was just scared and thrown off. I mean, you’ve seen Harry Potter. How do you think any regular people react when they’re told something this life changing? I mean, you had to think that there would be a few different outcomes to what you were doing. And then you what? You ran away. I could only assume that you went home, but the point was you dropped a bomb on my life and you weren’t even around for me to talk about it. You didn’t return any of my calls or messages, but it was like you’d dropped off the face of the planet. You can’t actually leave the planet, right?”

I shook my head, but let him continue.

“I want to work with you on this. I want you to trust me. I don’t want you to think that you have to his any of this from me anymore.”

“I trust you, Owen. That’s why I told you, but I was more afraid that you’d come after me with a mob or something?”

That’s where Owen sat up straight off of his bed. “You really think that I’d do something like that to you? What the fuck? I know they happened, but I think this generation is open to witch trials. Do your parents even know or am I the only one?”

“I told them when I got home. I didn’t think they should be in the dark anymore if you knew.”

“And how did they react, Ezra? Did they ban you from the house? Disown you? Did they try to murder you?”

I turned away from him as he spoke. I felt emotional while I listened to him tell the truth. “They’re my parents. They love me, Owen.”

I heard him shuffle around and could feel him behind me as he said what he did next. “I love you too. And I really want you to be here and to stay here. I mean, yeah. It’s a huge change learning this about you, but it’s just one more thing that makes you special.”

Owen gently turned me to face him and I couldn’t hate the difference in our heights more at the time because he seemed to tower over me in this moment and I nearly fell into him with a face full of tears. He held onto me with one hand across my back and the other, slowly stroking my hair and holding me close.

“Does this mean you still want me?” I asked through pathetic hiccups.

“I mean, I could get used to holding you like this. I’ve wanted to for a long time.” Owen stopped and then began again. “If I ask you nicely, will you show me some tricks? But like, some that don’t scare the hell out of me. Do you know how long it took me to actually get the door open?”

“I’m sorry. Heat of the moment.” I looked up at him once and then realized that I made a horrible pun. But then I thought, what was stopping me from showing him now?

I told him to close his eyes are spun us once in circle and I could the change in his expression as he felt a breeze brush over his face. He slowly opened his eyes and then kind of gasped when he saw where were, standing at the top of the campus bell tower.

 

 

 

Author: chancet1014

I'm a student. I'm a cashier. I'm a writer. I'm a rambler.

Leave a Reply

