breakdown, part one

So, I did in fact write something. This time, it’s a two parter.

Ezra was going to tell Owen. He wasn’t only going to tell Owen that he was gifted in ways that Owen wasn’t but, he was also going to tell him that he was ready to let him know about his own feelings. He’d thought about his life prior to their meeting and he had thought about the more his mind seemed to focus on Owen when he was in the room; he wasn’t sure if it was real, but he thought the room seemed brighter, clichéd as it sounded to him. Through his life, he wanted someone to call a companion, but he was different. He never thought that there could be someone who loved him or anyone he could love in return. His life was complicated, but through his training, Ezra felt more confident and a little more rebellious than he had ever before.

Owen had come home from class in a mood and Ezra could not, or would not, see why. Owen went straight to his room without even saying a simple hello to Ezra, an even bigger warning to him that something was wrong with his best friend. Ezra was quick to push off of the couch and follow Owen, hoping to be quiet.

“Ezra, please leave me alone for a bit,” Owen mumbled, stopped at his door.

“I can’t do that. I’ve gotta make sure that you’re okay.”

Owen turned at the statement, his eyebrow raised. “In all the time I’ve known you, you’ve rarely ever been my protector. Do you remember who took you to dinner not to celebrate, but cheer you up for failing your English midterm last year? And now you’re trying to appoint yourself to fix my problem?”

By then, Owen had opened his door and shrugged off his backpack, finally flopping down on his bed.

“What if I took you to dinner? We could get burritos or something.”

“But burritos are your favorite food.”

“Burritos can be everyone’s favorite food. But in all seriousness,” Ezra sat on the bed, scrunching himself up, “are you going to tell me or at least make it seem like there’s nothing wrong? I want to know if there’s anything that I could do.”

Owen sat up and clutched a pillow to his body. He looked solemn, but his eyes didn’t speak much sadness. He placed his own hand on Ezra’s and meant it this time.

“Tell me about your day.”

Ezra hesitated. It wasn’t his day that he wanted to tell Owen about, instead it was his life. Without looking away from Owen, the bedroom door closed.

“That was weird. Is it drafty in here?” Owen glanced at his window to see if it was open. He stood to open the door again, but Ezra stopped him.

“Leave it and sit back down.”

Owen wasn’t sure where Ezra was going with this, but he did as he was told and Ezra was the one to stand instead.

“I have something to say. You know that I’m awkward and I don’t have a lot of friends other than you and the guys. I rarely talk about my life in high school and I sometimes don’t know how to socialize, but today, I am going to tell you why.”

Ezra stopped talking long enough for Owen to sit back on his bed while Ezra himself paced.

“I’m not normal, Owen.”

“What does that mean? You’re normal. I’m the one who isn’t normal.”

“I know what you’re trying to say, but unfortunately, this isn’t the right time in the conversation. You are the most normal out of the two of us,” Ezra’s heart started to race, “because I can do things that normal people cannot do.”

“Like what? Are you double-jointed? Can you put your leg behind your head?”

“Owen, I need you to be serious right now, please. This is difficult. I can do things that people can’t do.”

“Okay, fine. Show me one of these things that you can do.”

Ezra could sense the lax tone without actively listening for it. He was getting annoyed with Owen’s comments.

“If you want to know, you need to stop talking.”

“I’m sorry,” Owen said, raising his hands and stretching out his words.

“Owen, quit it.”

“Quit what? What have I done?”

In a fit of anger and annoyance, Ezra lifted the bed beneath them. He didn’t even raise his hands, but Owen pulled his legs up to his body in fear and panic.

“Ezra, what’s happening? Ezra! What is this?”

Coming back, Ezra realized that he had gone too far and tried to place the bed down gently, but having it land with a loud thud on the floor. He watched the color leave Owen’s face and the emotions form in an undistinguishable expression. Ezra stood quickly and tried to collect himself before he broke down. He gently backed out of the room and begged for forgiveness. Owen didn’t speak, but his eyes were filled with both horror and tears.

Ezra did not leave his bed. He did not come out for meals with his roommates. He did not come out of his room, but he pulled the door closed every time it moved without even moving a muscle. He stayed awake until he heard the other doors in the apartment close; that is when he fell asleep. That is when he gave into relaxation.

Author: chancet1014

I'm a student. I'm a cashier. I'm a writer. I'm a rambler.

Leave a Reply

