And the rest is DRAG

I have to applaud drag queens because you’re so goddamned confident to put yourself out there enough to not care what people think. I don’t even have the confidence to go outside in an old tee-shirt. I applaud the queens for their talent and their skills and just their all-around likeability. If I’m talking to an actual queen, I love what you do and I want to let you know that you’re great.
Within the past two weeks, I’ve rewatched (for the second time) seasons four, five, and six of RuPaul’s Drag Race. When I watched these seasons last year, I was fascinated by the effort that went into putting in these performances and their makeup and sewing their outfits. I can’t even understand how to sew. But watching this show again, in tandem with watching the current season (season eight; I miss Thorgy Thor), I’ve realized the family aspect of this show.
Now, I totally don’t expect anyone to gather around the TV with their traditional American families and watch RuPaul’s Drag Race every Monday night. But I have seen a family aspect to this show. Drag families are the shit. You can be pissed beyond all belief at these girls (and I’m phrasing it like they do on the show; you can call them boys or girls depending on what personal nouns they pick), but then they’ll still call each other sisters. I’m talking about fucking Phi Phi O’Hara and my personal favorite, Sharon Needles. They had horrifying fights in the workroom and still said that they were going to be family. I doubt that Sharon and Phi Phi hang out like besties though. Bianca Del Rio, winner of season six, put herself out there as an insult comic but she still took care of her fellow queens throughout the show. She helped Adore Delano with her outfits (and she didn’t even thank her when she got praise) and she made it to the final three; we could be looking at BenDeLaCreme (fucking loved her) in the finale. And this just shows that family can be anyone, like Ru told Roxxxy before someone was sent home in season five.


RuPaul and these queens have helped. I’ve been watching this great show for a year and it makes me laugh and I get into it. I talk to my TV when I watch this show. I pick my favorites. I wrote a letter to Sharon last year, but it was returned to me without even making it to her; I think I’m gonna try again. You could also chill out and listen to RuPaul’s albums, most of the music used in the show is by her. That shit is great, but be careful with Peanut Butter because it’s an earworm.

Drag Queens are fucking fierce and even if they read you they’ll still call you sisters.

Sharon Needles

Author: chancet1014

I'm a student. I'm a cashier. I'm a writer. I'm a rambler.

Leave a Reply

