What I learned from bingeing movies all weekend:

Author’s note: I use language that isn’t becoming of a normal person, but I am also an adult, so kindly shush.

I’m literal garbage.

No, that was a joke. Seriously. What did I learn? That I had an immense amount of time with Gentle weekend (Gentle weekend is the cancelling of Thursday and Friday classes before final exams at my university, but they moved it up like, a month)? That I have too many movies to watch? That I’m childish at heart? All correct.

I watched the entire Harry Potter series, The Hobbit, and The Lord of the Rings; there was also The House Bunny (for comic relief). Could I have been doing homework or maybe exploring the wonderful sunlight? Yes, but I decided to build a blanket fort in my dorm room and sit in the dark. I’m twenty years old.

I learned that even if there’s a giant burden sitting on me, be it homework or my own dismal personal life, that watching Harry fight his way from his first year to his seventh, things for me are going to be good. It’s not like I’m going to fight Voldemort or participate in the Triwizard Tournament; I don’t think I’d survive the dragons. But even with all the dark shit Harry faces at every turn, there’s something happy on the other side of it, like his friends, his adoptive family (totally the Weasleys because no one likes the Dursleys), and even his love connection with Ginny. It’s like Dumbledore’s line from The Prisoner of Azkaban: “But you know happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, when one only remembers to turn on the light.”

I learned from all the films that I’m totally not any of the main characters, unless you tell me I’m not Bilbo; I’m so totally a Bilbo. No, I am Ron Weasley. I am Samwise Gamgee. Fuck being Frodo. Frodo, under the influence of the One Ring, was a dick to Sam. Don’t be a dick, Frodo. Fuck being Harry. Ron stood by him, but Ron loved his food, man. Ron wasn’t the Chosen One, but he volunteered; I’d volunteer to help bring down the darkest wizard of our time. I’m sure as hell a Bilbo; get the hell out of my house you dumb dwarfs, but Thorin’s cool, so he can stay. I’m also choosing to overlook his attitude with the One Ring. He was still cool and defied everyone’s expectations of him. If I watched Star Wars, I’d totally make an entire post about how I’m Chewbacca and go into detail as to why I got him tattooed on my arm. I’m not the main character, I’m perfectly fine chilling out as the supporter.

Alright. Thanks for stopping by today or whatever day you decided to come. Enjoy the rest of your day and maybe you should watch some of these.

Author: chancet1014

I'm a student. I'm a cashier. I'm a writer. I'm a rambler.

Leave a Reply

